The Distinguished Diplomate shall be a member in good standing who has made significant contributions to the specialty of veterinary preventive medicine. Nominations for the Distinguished Diplomate Award may be made by any member in good standing. The nominations shall be made to the chairperson of the Standards and Recognition Committee including a brief biographical sketch of the nominee. Previous Distinguished Diplomate award winners include:

1983 Dr. James H. Steele, Dr. Calvin W. Schwabe & Dr. Ival A. Merchant
1985 Dr. Paul R. Schnurrenberger (posthumously)
1986 Dr. Benjamin D. Blood
1989 Dr. Leon H. Russell, Jr.
1990 Dr. Norman D. Heidelbaugh
1991 Dr. William E. Jennings
1992 Dr. Robert K. Anderson
1993 Dr. Joe R. Held
1994 Dr. Charles V. L. Elia
1995 Dr. Douglas W. Butchart
1996 Dr. Lonnie J. King
1997 Dr. Edward L. Menning
1998 Dr. Frederick J. Angulo
1999 Dr. Michael G. Groves
2000 Dr. Thomas G. Murnane
2001 Dr. Stanley O. Hewins
2002 Dr. John C. New, Jr.
2004 Dr. William D. Hueston
2005 Dr. Gary L. Bowman
2006 Dr. Salvatore M. Cirone
2007 Dr. Lyle P. Vogel
2008 Dr. Michael B. Cates
2009 Dr. Roger Gibson
2010 Dr. Marguerite Pappaioanou
2011 Dr. Millie Eidson
2012 Dr. Greg Parham

*Award was not conferred in 1984, 1987, 1988 and 2003


This award, established in 1980, recognized the significant and lasting contributions of Drs. John H. Helwig and William E. Jennings to the totality of veterinary preventive medicine. The award may be presented in the future to other in good standing who have rendered outstanding and prolonged service to the College. Nominations for the award may be made by any member in good standing. Previous Helwig-Jennings award winners include:

1980 Dr. John H. Helwig, Dr. William E. Jennings
1981 Dr. Leo A. Whitehair
1982 Dr. Joe W. Atkinson
1983 Dr. Earl W. Grogin
1984 Dr. Charles H. Snider
1986 Dr. William W. Rosser
1987 Dr. Fred W. Clayton
1989 Dr. Edward L. Menning
1990 Dr. William T. Hubbert
1991 Dr. C. Richard Dorn
1992 Dr. Ronald D. Anderson
1993 Dr. Lawrence E. Heider
1994 Dr. Thomas G. Murnane
1995 Dr. Michael M. Pullen
1996 Dr. Michael G. Groves
1997 Dr. David W. Dreesen
1998 Dr. Leon H. Russell, Jr.
1999 Dr. F.T. "Irish" Satalowich
2000 Dr. Paul L. Barrows
2001 Dr. Suzanne R. Jenkins
2002 Dr. Kelley J. Donham
2003 Dr. Stepanie J. Sherman
2004 Dr. John R. Herbold
2006 Dr. J. Kevin Grayson
2007 Dr. Roger A. Krogwold
2008 Dr. John P. Sanders, Jr
2009 Dr. Paul Garbe
2010 Dr. David W. Goolsby
2011 Dr. James Wright
2012 Dr. David R. Smith

*Award was not conferred in 1985, 1988 and 2005


Frank A. Todd President's Award: This award may be given by the president of the College to a member in good standing for meritorious service to the College. The period of evaluation will be for two years and commences when the president-elect takes office. The award shall be a plaque and is not a membership category with exemption of dues. Previous President's Award winners include:
1983 Dr. William W. Rosser
1990 Dr. Larry D. Brown
1991 Dr. William D. Hueston
1992 Dr. Stanley O. Hewins
1993 Dr. John C. Prucha
1994 Dr. James H. Steele
1995 Dr. Kelley J. Donham
1996 Dr. Thomas G. Murnane & Dr. Vicky L. Fogelman
1997 Dr. Ronald D. Warner
1999 Dr. J. Kevin Grayson
2000 Dr. Robin L. Taylor
2002 Dr. Roger A. Krogwold
2004 Dr. David W. Dreesen
2006 Dr. Candace A. Jacobs & Dr. Margaret N. Carter
2007 Dr. Gary L. Bowman
2008 Dr. Russell W. Currier
2010 Dr. Malcolm Roberts
2012 Dr. Beth Karp

*Award was not conferred 1984-1989, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2009 and 2011.


Copyright © 2002 - 2015 American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, All Rights Reserved.
Web site graphics and content within may not be reproduced without express written permission of the ACVPM.
Web site programming code is the sole intellectual property of Joe Adam and may not be used without permission.
Our Privacy Policy